Community Financial Credit Union

FacebookTwitterCommunity Financial Credit Union BlogCommunity Financial Credit Union YouTube SiteCommunity Financial on Instagram

About Us | Locations & ATMs | Contact Us | Careers | Press Room

Press Room

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Press Release - 2016 Community Financial Scholarships

2016 Community Financial Credit Union Scholarship winners announced

PLYMOUTH, Mich. – Students from several high schools in northern and southeastern Michigan were honored as the 2016 Community Financial Scholarship award winners recently, continuing the credit union’s commitment to supporting youth and education in local communities.

The scholarships were awarded to 20 students, in collaboration with the Community Foundation of Plymouth (CFP) and the Ann Arbor Area Community Foundation (AAACF). Community Financial’s scholarships are awarded to students who exemplify the credit union’s “People Helping People” philosophy. Students received a $1,000 Ron Carlson Scholarship, a $1,000 George Lawton or Margaret Dunning Memorial scholarship, or a $500 Employees’ Children Scholarship and were honored at a reception May 9, 2016.

George Lawton Memorial Scholarship winners include: Kaleigh Carlone, Anne Patterson, Shannon Kievit, Kayla Ross, Samuel Tufts, Nathan Ewell, Amanda Liddicoat, Stephen Rowley, Allison Rutkowski, Zain Khera, Peter Bruchnak, and Waldo Everett.

Margaret Dunning Scholarship winners include: Samantha Morehouse, Sarah Osen, Cassidy Gordon, Haley Bickhardt, Alaina Ableidinger, and Joshua DeGraw.

Ron Carlson Scholarship winners include: Alan Sun and Nicholas Peck-Dimit.

Employees’ Children Scholarship winners include: Madeleine Burt, Angela Dickinson, Cassandra Kolka, Kevin Kollar, Alexander LaForest, and Trevor Lassaline.

“All of these students are outstanding students and citizens and deserve our applause for their accomplishments,” said Bill Lawton, Community Financial president and CEO. “We are proud to support their education going forward and look forward to seeing what they accomplish next.”

Community Financial scholarships are part of an annual essay and recommendation-based program. To learn more about the scholarships Community Financial Credit Union offers visit

About Community Financial Credit Union 
Headquartered in Plymouth, Michigan, membership in Community Financial Credit Union is open to anyone who lives, works, worships, or attends school in 23 Michigan counties. With more than 55,000 members, Community Financial provides financial services to members at 11 branch locations and through a variety of automated and online services. For more complete membership information, visit or call (877) 937-2328.

No comments:

Post a Comment