Community Financial Credit Union

FacebookTwitterCommunity Financial Credit Union BlogCommunity Financial Credit Union YouTube SiteCommunity Financial on Instagram

About Us | Locations & ATMs | Contact Us | Careers | Press Room

Press Room

Friday, May 1, 2015

2015 Community Financial Credit Union Scholarship Winners Announced

PLYMOUTH, Mich. – Students from several high schools in northern and southeastern Michigan were honored as the 2015 Community Financial Scholarship award winners recently, continuing the credit union’s commitment to supporting youth education in local communities.

The scholarships were awarded to 20 students, in collaboration with the Community Foundation of Plymouth (CFP) and the Ann Arbor Area Community Foundation (AAACF). Community Financial’s scholarships are awarded to students who exemplify the credit union’s “People Helping People” philosophy. Students received either a $1,000 Margaret Dunning or George Lawton Memorial scholarship, or a $500 Employees’ Children Scholarship and were honored at a reception April 27, 2015.

This year’s scholarship winners are as follows: George Lawton Memorial Scholarship winners include: Andrew Carlone of Novi, Ashley Greer of Alpena, Leya Maliekal of Novi, Mason Van Pamel of Hillman, Michael Shao of Northville and Spencer Waldo of Northville.

Margaret Dunning Scholarship winners include: Benjamin Weeks of Wixom, Carson Burmeister of Grayling, Christine Kardel of Canton, Eden Hunt of Hillman, Lauren Conley of Plymouth, Natalie Filipowicz of Novi, Reena Mathew of Novi, Shannon Kievit of Lewiston, Tanner Vincent of Novi and Thomas McMaster of Novi.

Employees’ Children Scholarship winners include Kelly Kerwin, Lindsey Birrell, Michaelene Michels and Cassandra Kolka.

“All of these students are outstanding students and citizens and deserve our applause for their accomplishments,” said Bill Lawton, Community Financial president and CEO. “We are proud to support their education going forward and look forward to seeing what they accomplish next.”

Community Financial scholarships are part of an annual essay and recommendation-based program. To learn more about the scholarships Community Financial offers visit

About Community Financial Credit Union 
Headquartered in Plymouth, Michigan, membership in Community Financial Credit Union is open to anyone who lives, works, worships, or attends school in 23 Michigan counties. With more than 50,000 members, Community Financial provides financial services to members at 10 branch locations and through a variety of automated and online services. For more complete membership information, visit or call (877) 937-2328.

No comments:

Post a Comment